/home

Icon

Informations, tips and technics.

Checking OS version on Linux or Unix

I work right now on a bash script utility and I have tried to find a way to check what is my system. The goal of the script is to runs some commands and can be run on RedHat, Suse Linux and Solaris.

I have use this code :

for base in `ls /etc/*release*` ; do
    if [ -f “$base” ]; then
        s=”$base”
    fi
done
z=$(cat $s | tr [a-z] [A-Z])
id=${z// /}
cri=”SOLARIS SUSE REDHAT”
for critere in $cri; do
    rd=`expr match “$id” “$critere”`
  if [ ! “$rd” -eq 0 ]; then
            systeme=”$critere”
        fi
done

Assuming that you have a release file in /etc then it should works.

If you are going to ask me why I do not use a findfunction to retrieve all the files in /etc it is because the version of findin Linux and Solaris does not have the same parameters and I can’t use the-maxdeph 1 method to search only in /etc.

So I ended up using an ls function and then test is the result is really a file or not (I do no manage folders and symbolic links). If it is then I can proceed some checks.

Maybe not the best code to know what can of the system the script in running onto but well, it works. But feel free to comment!

Filed under: Bash, Linux

Leave a Reply

